Tags

, , ,

Life  altering event! My orchid is almost blooming. This will be the first orchid I have ever been able to convince to re-bloom (quick history, it was a birthday present from my friend Michelle last June).

Blooming orchid!

Blooming orchid!

Anyway, this post is about the following email I received from my darling mother:

“The other day I made the best soup! Easy, nutritious, low fat. So because I am a good mom I am sharing.

Cooked lentils from trader joe’s in the fresh cold veggie section
Box of hearty organic veggie broth
Frozen bag of broccoli, cauliflower and something else – puttanesca or something – it has garlic butter sauce
2 medium red potatoes, sliced thinnish as in ¼ in
Couple tomatoes, chopped – this is very optional
Catsup
Bag of fresh spinach

Throw in a pan together with some spike, pepper and cook until potatoes are done

Add spinach for about 5 minutes

Really tasty, filling

And cornbread would make it perfect.”

Of course I can’t just follow it step by step because that would be to easy. So I used this as a base and played.

Step 1) Pour a glass of wine

Step 1

Step 1

Step 2)

Put all of these ingredients in a pan

Soup Ingredients

Soup Ingredients

Cooked lentils
chicken broth (2 cans)
Frozen bag of cauliflower and romanesca broccoli – it has garlic butter sauce on it
5 small new red potatoes
small can of tomato sauce
Bag of fresh spinach

a bunch of spice….onion power, celery salt, garlic powder, salt and pepper (I just threw stuff in…didn’t measure).

3)

Simmer until the potatoes are done (about 3o minutes) and then add the bag of fresh spinach until wilted.

Simmering

Simmering

4)

For the cornbread, I took a a regular cornbread recipe and spiced that up also!

Cornbread Ingredients

Cornbread Ingredients

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup gluten free flour (its all I had on hand)

4 tsp. baking powder

1/8 cup of sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1 cup 1% milk

1/4 cup melted butter

The Spice

The Spice

5)

Add:

can of hot diced chiles

1/4 shredded cheddar cheese

 

6)

Bake at 425 for 20 minutes.

Before the oven

Before the oven

Here is the delicious final product.

Crispy Cornbread

Crispy Cornbread

