Tags

, ,

For most of my life I was confused about the difference between a sweet potato and a yam. Admittedly, it wasn’t until a several years ago (when I married a sweet-potato loving man) that I really even cared. As long as they had marshmallows on top, I enjoyed the auburn-colored mush.

Well, I had an epiphany, when I last discussed yams with my hubby, that we should have a taste off! So I went to the commissary, purchased one sweet potato and one yam. I feel like I always thought they looked identical but when they were directly adjacent at the Camp Pendleton Commissary, I could see a striking difference…but this is probably due to my aforementioned lack of interest in the subject.

Image

I decided that I would cook them in my new favorite way – as inspired by this recipe on Pinterest (follow my food board here).

This is my new favorite way to cook SP or Yam. So easy and soooo delicious.

First, cut into 1/2″ slices:

Image

Then brush on a little olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Image

Man…I need to clean that cookie sheet.

Roast at 350 for 10 minutes. Flip and roast for another 10 minutes. Crank up the heat to 400 and roast for 8 minutes on each side.

Image

Close up of the yam.

IMG_4930

Close up of the sweet potato.

Complete dinner was Pineapple Cranberry Chicken, green beans and the root vegetables, of course.

from AllRecipes.com

from AllRecipes.com

So, I had my hubby cover his eyes and taste both so that it was a true taste test. He chose sweet potato!! I did an eyes-wide-open test and also chose sweet potato. There is a definitely different flavor and now that I have thought deeply about it, I would choose yams for Thanksgiving inspired casseroles (with marshmallows) and sweet potatoes for when we just have some roasted with our dinner.

What do you think? Which is your favorite?

On another note, Christmas is coming soon and Yurman is a favorite jewelry line. I thought this ad is somewhat interesting.


David Yurman Pinterest Contest. Re-Pin your favorite piece of jewelry from our Inspired and Desired board with a message about why it inspires you. Tag your pin with #DYINSPIRATION

